One-upsmanship in the Men's Tennis Grand Slams


Pete Sampras became the all-time Men's Tennis Grand Slam title holder with 14 in 2002 with a win at the US Open. The previous record-holder was Roy Emerson, who held the record from 1967 when he won the Australian Open and French Open. Pete Sampras officially broke that record in 2000 with a win at Wimbledon. That also gave Sampras, the record for most Wimbledon, wins all-time at seven.

Since he's retired, three players have surpassed Pete Sampras' Grand Slam total. Roger Feder in 2009 with a win at Wimbledon. Rafael Nadal passed Sampras' 14 Grand Slams in 2017 with a win at the French Open. Novak Djokovic passed Sampras' 14 in 2019 with a win at the Australian Open.

Federer (20), Djokovic (17), and Nadal (19) are all still active. Impressive still is that each of them is also the all-time winner in a Grand Slam. Feder has won Wimbledon 8 times. Nadal has won the French Open 12 times -- the only player with double-digit victories in a Grand Slam. Djokovic has won the Australian Open 8 times (a record previously held by Roger Federer!). It is likely Federer's 20 Grand Slam titles will not stay the record.

Tags: Grand Slam, Novak Djokovic, Pete Sampras, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Tennis

permanent link: